DELIGHTED: English professional kickboxer Ruqsana Begum wins the ‘UK Sport Inspirational Performance Award’
DELIGHTED: English professional kickboxer Ruqsana Begum wins the ‘UK Sport Inspirational Performance Award’


Winners announced at British Ethnic Diversity Sports Awards

Sir Mo Farah and Kadeena Cox were the big winners at this year’s Lycamobile BEDSAs, staged at the Hilton Park Lane, London on Saturday 18th March. They were named Lycamobile Sportsman and Sporting Equals Sportswoman of the Year at a glittering awards show hosted by Sir Lenny Henry.

Commenting on his first win at the Bedsas Sir Mo Farah said: “Thank-you to the Lycamobile British Ethnic Diversity Sports Awards and a very special thanks to everyone who’s voted for me.

“It really means a lot to be named as your Sportsman of the Year; and congratulations to my fellow nominees as well. It’s so great to see everyone come together this evening to celebrate the incredible achievements of our diverse sporting communities”

Kadeena, expressing here delight in her win, said: “I’m very honoured to have won this award and would like to give a massive thanks to Sporting Equals for all the work they do in BAME communities.”

The night was also memorable for a Special Lifetime Achievement award given to rugby’s most successful dual code rugby player and 2003 Rugby World Cup winner Jason Robinson.

Chris Hughton, the Brighton and Hove Albion Manager currently leading his team to promotion to the Premier League was named England Athletics Coach of the Year.

Ruqsana Begum, the English professional kickboxer received the UK Sport Inspirational Performance Award with ParaOlympian swimmer Alice Tai winning the Youth Sport Trust Young Sportsperson of the Year award.

Arun Kang CEO Sporting Equals commenting on a wonderful evening said: “I would like to congratulate all the winners, they thoroughly deserved their accolades.

“Sporting Equals organise the BEDSAs as we want to celebrate diversity at both an elite and grassroots level.

“It was heart-warming to see the delighted faces of the community groups and volunteers who give so much of their time to get communities more active as well as the elite stars who will hopefully inspire the next generation to take the baton”

Allirajah Subaskaran, Chairman of Lycamobile, which supports the BEDSAs said: “We are honoured to support the BEDSAs, recognising the impressive collection of sportsmen and women from Black, Asian and minority ethnic backgrounds across the UK.

“Awards such as these are crucial in driving change in the sports sector by increasing participation and diversity at both a national and grass-roots level. Congratulations to all the winners on their well-deserved honours.”

The Lycamobile BEDSAs are supported by Sport England , UK Sport,  The Football Association, The Tennis Foundation, Youth Sport Trust, England Athletics, The British Army, Mind and Spirt of 2012

List of winners at the 2017

Youth Sport Trust Young Sports Person of the Year –  Alice Tai

British Army Unsung Hero -Inderpal Singh Cheema

Sport England Community Sports Project of the Year – Spring SLR

England Athletics Coach of the Year- Chris Hughton

Spirit of 2012 Connecting Communities – Al Madina Centre

Mind Wellbeing Award – Sonia Smith

Tennis Foundation Special Achievement – Shapla Sports

FA Recognition Award – Rashid Abba

UK Sport Inspirational Performance – Ruqsana Begum

Sporting Equals Sportswoman of the Year – Kadeena Cox

Lycamobile Sportsman of the Year – Mo Farah

Lifetime Achievement Award – Jason Robinson OBE